Posted by: faithathletics | October 17, 2010

Fluffy gray, white and red-orange clouds

Wednesday as my family scurried to jump in the car so we could get to church, the boys just did not want to cooperate.  They started running around the yard like crazy Hyenas. They found it funny to ignore their parents and live life their way. 

I stood by the car watching as both boys stopped almost simultaneously on the walk way to the front door, they looked up and marveled at the beautiful fluffy gray, white and red-orange clouds above.  It was almost like the world stood still.

I stood with great joy, reflecting on the simplicity my boys view life; to them it is so new and limitless.  I also looked on in sadness as well, knowing that so often I am too busy trying to get from one place to another that I miss the beauty God provides around me that my boys recognize and I far to often fail to see. 

This summer was a fun year for racing.  I only raced shorter distance races, so my longest workout was just 3 hours.  For many reading this, you are saying, “Just three hours? Are you kidding me?”  Because most of my workouts were short compared to Half Ironman training, I was able for the first time to just stop and look at the fluffy gray, white and red-orange clouds above. 

On one occasion, while racing in Waco, about halfway through the 24.8 mile bike portion, I began to tear up with the realization of how blessed my life is.  My life is by no means perfect or trouble free, but for some reason God chose that time to reveal a blessing.  I started to pray and thank God for blessing me and my family and for the first time in my soul I loved racing, not like in worship but in application.

So it brings me to my question…When is the last time you stopped long enough to look at the fluffy gray, white and red-orange clouds above and thanked God for your life and really appreciate the life we have been given? 

It does not matter if you are a professional athlete or a mom just trying to stay fit and healthy. We all need to look at the fluffy gray, white and red-orange clouds and marvel.  If you have forgotten how, find a park nearby, find a bench, sit down and watch kids, you will be better for it.


Leave a comment

Categories